Tags

, , ,

Today’s Bible Study brought me back to Romans 8:16-18, which is where the title of my blog originated. Paul is one of my favorite of the folks of the Bible, born out of time,  a zealous law follower, a chief sinner, a lover of words. A man insistent on following the letter of the Law, which led him farther away from God until he ran into God. Then a passionate, fervent lover of God because He saved him despite all that he had done. That is my story.

I am sure Paul thought, “how did I end up having the privilege of seeing Christ after His ascent, of ministering the Gospel, of being a disciple?”  But Paul realized that in order to share in His glory, he would have to share in His sufferings.

Hence in Romans 8:16-17 he writes, “The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God: And if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ; if so be that we suffer with him, that we may be also glorified together.”

Yet it is the next sentence that always gets me…”For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.” The sufferings don’t even compare to the glory. I can barely wrap my mind around that. Thinking of the suffering that people have experienced in the world…or even Paul’s day. Being decapitated, crucified, crucified upside down…. If these sufferings aren’t even worthy to be compared to the glory that shall be revealed IN us. Wow. There are no words. There is only the raising of hands, the falling flat on the face in worship. What do we say to these things? If God be for us, who can be against us?

“No weapon that is formed against thee shall prosper; and every tongue that shall rise against thee in judgment thou shalt condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the LORD, and their righteousness is of me, saith the LORD”  ~ Isaiah 54:17, KJV.

